[-]Archive of the University of Liverpool: Records of Halls of Residence
    [-]Carnatic Site Halls of Residence

Carnatic Hall

Reference D226, A004 & D802
Dates of Creation 1893 & 1950
Physical Description 3 series

Scope and Content

Plans of Carnatic Hall 1893 and papers regarding a flat in the Hall.

Administrative / Biographical History

Mossley Hill House or Carnatic Hall was built for Peter Baker, master shipwright around 1779. In 1891 it was almost completely destroyed by fire and the then owner, Walter Holland, had a new similar styled hall erected. In 1947 the University of Liverpool purchased the hall outright and, until it was demolished in 1964, University of Liverpool Museum made use of the building. The land is now occupied by the Carnatic Halls of Residence

Bibliography

J H Porter, Carnatic Halls since 1779, Liverpool University 1969


Plans of Carnatic Hall (1893)

Reference D226, A004
Physical Description 2 series of records

Scope and Content

Photocopies of plans drawn up by Willink and Thicknesse, predecessors of Gilling Dod, for the erection of a new Carnatic Hall, Elmswood Road, Liverpool, for Mr. Walter Holland, in 1893.

Although the plans are unsigned it is presumed that they are the work of The Gilling Dod Partnership's predecessors, Messrs. Willink and Thicknesse (who joined in partnership in 1882).

Although some of the plans are undated it is clear they were all drawn up in 1893 for the erection of a new Carnatic Hall for Mr. Walter Holland on the site of the Hall which was burnt down. This new hall was demolished in 1964; the land and premises were conveyed to the University in 1946.

Acquisition Information

D226 given by the owners of the originals, The Gilling Dod Partnership, (Chartered Architects), Liverpool, 20th November 1979. A004 deposited by Mr H.C. Higby, University Estates and Development Officer 20th November 1979.

Related Material

Original plans held by The Gilling Dod Partnership, Cunard Building, Liverpool


Bibliography

For a history of the successive halls on the site, Mr. Walter Holland, and a reproduction of A.P. Tankard's watercolour view of the west side of Carnatic Hall in July 1950 see Jeffrey H. Porter, Carnatic Halls since 1779, The University of Liverpool, 1969

Access Points

Corporate Names
Willink and Thicknessse
Gilling Dod Partnership Chartered Architects

Plans drawn up for the erection of a new Carnatic Hall (circa 1893)

Reference D226
Physical Description 9 photocopiedplans

Scope and Content

  • Site Plan, 1893; (a note on the plan that the Hall was rebuilt on the old foundations for Walter Holland, the original Hall being burnt down)
  • Basement Plan, n.d. [1893]
  • Ground Plan, 1893
  • First Floor Plan, 1893
  • Attic Plan, n.d. [1893]
  • West and East Elevations, n.d. [1893]
  • North and South Elevations, n.d. [1893]
  • Longitudinal Section, n.d. [1893]
  • Plan of Drainage (with key), n.d. [1893].

Copy Plans drawn up for the erection of a new Carnatic Hall (circa 1893)

Reference A004
Physical Description 1 bundle

Papers regarding a flat in Carnatic Hall (1950)

Reference D802
Physical Description 2 items

Scope and Content

Copy of Service Tenancy Agreement in respect of first floor flat, Carnatic Hall, Elmswood Road, Liverpool by Mr W G Tomlinson from Liverpool Corporation, 19 Nov 1950; also Rent Books in respect to the flat

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Mrs Marjorie Tomlinson, Hoylake, Wirral (widow of William G Tomlinson); 11 Nov 1999